Three Contributions and Best Poster Award at IEEE ISMAR 2021

ISMAR '21

The IEEE ISMAR 2021 (IEEE International Symposium on Mixed and Augmented Reality) took place from October 4 to 8. Our group was involved with three contributions.

Continue reading

Keynote @ IEEE ICHMS

On September 10th, Raimund Dachselt gave a keynote speech at the 2021 IEEE International Conference on Human-Machine Systems (ICHMS).

Continue reading

Three Contributions and Honorable Mention Award at the Mensch und Computer 2020

The Mensch und Computer 2020 took place from September 6-9. The Interactive Media Lab Dresden (Chair of Multimedia Technology) was represented with three contributions.

The full paper Achiever or Explorer? Gamifying the Creation Process of Training Data for Machine Learning examines whether and how Gamification can be used to create high-quality training data for machine learning. The publication was based on the master thesis of Sarah Alaghbari. Besides Sarah Alaghbari, Annett Mitschick and Raimund Dachselt as well as Martin Voigt and Gregor Blichmann from the company AI4BD were also involved in the project.

Continue reading

UIST 2019 in New Orleans

BodyHub, UIST 2019

From October 20 to October 23, the 32st ACM Symposium on User Interface Software and Technology (short UIST 2019) took place at the center of New Orleans in the French Quarter. The doctoral symposium and welcome reception happened at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on the famous Bourbon Street on Sunday. UIST brings together people from diverse areas including graphical & web interfaces, tangible & ubiquitous computing, virtual & augmented reality, novel devices, and CSCW.

This year, Andreas Peetz and Konstantin Klamka presented a reconfigurable wearable system for clothing, called BodyHub, that allows user to realize their own smart garment applications by arranging and configuring exchangeable functional modules. To address individual user requirements and preferences, BodyHub provides input and output modules that can be placed freely onto slide-in sockets which are imprinted in the textile by using 3D printing. Further, our approach facilitates the creation of user-defined system functions without any programming skills by providing a easy-to-use smartphone companion app. BodyHub thereby allows the creation of personalized wearable solutions by the users themselves and also supports ad-hoc assemblies for interface design explorations in research labs. Detailed information about our approach can be found in the poster paper and the project page.

Some impressions of the scientific part and non-scientific program can be found in the twitter feed of the conference @acmuist and acmuist flickr.

Drei Beträge und Honorable Mention Award bei der Mensch und Computer 2020

Vom 6. bis 9. September fand die Mensch und Computer 2020 statt. Das Interactive Media Lab Dresden (Professur für Multimedia-Technologie) war dabei mit drei Beiträgen vertreten.

Im Full-Paper Achiever or Explorer? Gamifying the Creation Process of Training Data for Machine Learning wird untersucht, ob und wie Gamification dazu eingesetzt werden kann, qualitativ hochwerte Trainingsdaten für das maschinelle Lernen zu erstellen. Die Veröffentlichung entstand aus der Masterarbeit von Sarah Alaghbari. Neben Sarah Alaghbari, Annett Mitschick und Raimund Dachselt waren auch noch Martin Voigt und Gregor Blichmann von der Firma AI4BD am Projekt beteiligt.

Weiterlesen

UIST 2019 in New Orleans

BodyHub, UIST 2019

Vom 20. bis zum 23. Oktober fand das 32st ACM Symposium on User Interface Software and Technology (kurz UIST 2019) im Herzen von New Orleans in dem French Quarter statt. Die Konferenz startet am Sonntag mit einem Doktorandenseminar und einem Begrüßungsempfang im Royal Sonesta Hotel auf der berühmten Bourbon Street. Die UIST Konferenz bringt Leute aus unterschiedlichsten Fachbereichen zusammen und vereint Interessen in den Bereichen der Graphical & Web User Interfaces, tangible & Ubiquitous Computing, Virtual & Augmented Reality, Multimedia, neuen Eingabe- & Ausgabegeräten, und computerunterstützte oder rechnergestützte Gruppenarbeit (CSCW).

Dieses Jahr hat Andreas Peetz und Konstantin Klamka ein rekonfigurierbares Wearable-Konzept, namens BodyHub, vorgestellt, welches seinem Nutzer erlaubt, Kleidungsstücke mit digitalen Funktionen für individuelle Aufgaben und Bedürfnisse zu erweitern. Hierzu wurden verschiedene modulare Ein- und Ausgabemodule und eine Smartphone Applikation entwickelt. Die Module können frei auf spezielle Steckplätze angeordnet werden, welche mittels 3D-Druck direkt auf die Kleidung gedruckt wurden. Die Steckplätze sind mit einer elektrischen Verbindung zu einem Mikrocontroller verbunden und ermöglichen so die Kommunikation zwischen allen Modulen und der Smartphone Applikation. Die individuelle physische als auch logische Konfiguration ermöglicht so dynamische Benutzungsschnittstellen, die eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Anwendungsfälle unterstützt. Weitere Informationen und Details finden sich im Poster Paper und auf der Projektseite.

Einige Eindrücke des wissenschaftlichen Teils als auch des nicht-wissenschaftlichen Rahmenprogramms finden Sie im Twitter-Feed der Konferenz @acmuist und auf flickr.