Graphics editors often suffer from a large number of tool palettes that compete with valuable document space. To address this problem and to bring back physical affordances similar to a painter’s palette, we propose to augment a digital tabletop with spatially tracked handheld displays. These displays are dynamically updated depending on their spatial location. We introduce the concept of spatial Work Zones that take up distinct 3D regions above the table surface and serve as physical containers for digital content that is organized as stacks of horizontal layers. Spatial Work Zones are represented either by physical objects or on-screen on the tabletop. Associated layers can be explored fluently by entering a spatial Work Zone with a handheld display. This provides quick access and seamless changes between tools and parts of the document that are instantly functional, i.e., ready to be used by a digital pen. We discuss several use cases illustrating our techniques and setting them into context with previous systems. Early user feedback indicates that combining dynamic GUI functionality with the physicality of spatially tracked handheld displays is promising and can be generalized beyond graphics editing.

The TUIP Concept

The concept of Tangible User Interface Palettes (TUIP) is based on the traditional painter’s metaphor, where a painter uses real-world tools like brushes and color palettes that are physically separated from the painting. With TUIP, we apply this idea to a digital tabletop. The tabletop screen shows graphics documents that users can edit by using digital pen input. While tools (e.g., in form of menus) and the graphics document usually share the same screen space, we propose to decouple this space by making digital tool palettes physically tangible. We achieve this by using spatially aware handheld displays (Tangible UI Palettes) in different sizes and shapes that serve as physical representations for the otherwise virtual palettes. Users can take them into their hands and move and arrange them freely in 3D space and work with them using digital pen input. Thus, they bring back some of the advantages of a 3D work environment known from the analog world.

principle TUIP setup
Principle TUIP components: a tabletop with a graphics document (a), a handheld display with a detail view of that document (b), and handheld displays with tool menus (c). All displays are digital pen-enabled (d). Spatial work zones (e, f) are used as physical containers that can hold tools or document. They are represented by tangible proxies (e) or on-screen (f).

Spatial Work Zones

We propose to extend the interaction with spatially aware tangible displays by using proxemic interaction principles. We do this by introducing the concept of spatial Work Zones that are distinct spatial 3D regions above and around the table with individual spatial positions and extensions. They define an independent interaction space that can be explored by moving handheld displays into and through them. This either temporarily or permanently changes what is displayed on a handheld display. In this way, spatial work zones serve as physical containers that we use for pooling related functionality or digital content.

 workzones of TUIP
Spatial Work Zones are spatially bounded regions above and beside the tabletop. They provide fast access to tool palettes and documents. Moving a handheld display into them instantly changes what is shown on the display. Leaving the Work Zone immediately restores the previous content (a). Pressing a special on-display button makes the change permanent (b). This allows for taking along a particular tool palette when leaving the Work Zone.

Publications

  • Dynamic Tangible User Interface Palettes.

    Dynamic Tangible User Interface Palettes..

    Spindler, M.; Cheung, V.; Dachselt, R.;

    In Proceedings of INTERACT 2013.INTERACT '13, Cape Town, South Africa.159-176,2013.

    @inproceedings{2013_spindler_TUIP,
       author = {Martin Spindler and Victor Cheung and Raimund Dachselt},
       title = {Dynamic Tangible User Interface Palettes.},
       booktitle = {Proceedings of INTERACT 2013},
       year = {2013},
       month = {9},
       location = {Cape Town, South Africa},
       pages = {159--176},
       numpages = {18}
    }

    List of additional material

  • Towards Making Graphical User Interfaces Tangible

    Towards Making Graphical User Interfaces Tangible.

    Spindler, M.; Hauschild, M.; Dachselt, R.;

    In Proceedings of the ACM International Conference on Interactive Tabletops and Surfaces 2010.ITS '10, Saarbrücken, Germany.ACM,291-292,2010.10.1145/1936652.1936721

    @inproceedings{fixme,
       author = {Martin Spindler and Michel Hauschild and Raimund Dachselt},
       title = {Towards Making Graphical User Interfaces Tangible},
       booktitle = {Proceedings of the ACM International Conference on Interactive Tabletops and Surfaces 2010},
       series = {ITS '10},
       year = {2010},
       month = {11},
       isbn = {978-1-4503-0399-6},
       location = {Saarbr\"{u}cken, Germany},
       pages = {291--292},
       numpages = {2},
       doi = {10.1145/1936652.1936721},
       url = {http://doi.acm.org/10.1145/1936652.1936721},
       acmid = {1936721},
       publisher = {ACM},
       address = {New York, NY, USA},
       keywords = {digital paper, multi-surface UI, tangible UI}
    }

    List of additional material

    Poster

Grafikeditoren leiden häufig unter einer großen Anzahl von Werkzeugleisten die wertvollen Arbeitsraum belegen. Um dieses Problem zu adressieren und physische Affordances ähnlich zu echten Malerpaletten zurück zu bringen, schlagen wir vor, digitale Tabletops mit räumlich getrackten, in der Hand gehaltenen Displays zu erweitern. Diese Displays werden dynamisch geupdatet, abhängig von ihrer Position und Lage. Wir führen das Konzept räumlicher Arbeitszonen ein, die eine bestimmte 3D-Region über der Tischoberfläche einnehmen und als physische Behälter für digitale Inhalte dienen, die als Stapel horizontaler Schichten organisiert werden. Räumliche Arbeitszonen werden entweder durch physische Objekte repräsentiert oder auf dem Bildschirm des Tabletops. Die verbundenen Schichten können flüssig exploriert werden, indem eine Zone mit einem handgehaltenen Display betreten wird. Dies erlaubt einen schnellen Zugriff und nahtlosen Wechsel zwischen Werkzeugen und Teilen des Dokuments, die direkt nutzbar werden, etwa mittels digitaler Stifte. Wir diskutieren mehrere Anwendungsfälle die unsere Techniken illustrieren und sie in den Kontext früherer Systeme einbetten. Erstes Nutzerfeedback zeigt, dass die Kombination dynamischer GUI-Funktionalität mit der Physikalität räumlich getrackter handgehaltener Displays vielversprechend ist und über Grafikbearbeitung hinaus generalisierbar ist.

Das TUIP-Konzept

Das Konzept der Tangible User Interface Palettes (TUIP) basiert auf einer traditionellen Maler-Metapher, in welcher ein Maler reale Werkzeuge wie Pinsel und Farbpaletten verwendet, die physische vom Bild separiert sind. Mit TUIP übertragen wir diese Idee auf digitale Tabletops. Der dargestellte Tabletop zeigt Grafikdokumente an, die die Nutzer mit digitaler Stifteingabe bearbeiten können. Während Werkzeuge (z. B. in Form von Menüs) und das Grafikdokument normalerweise den gleichen Bildschirmplatz teilen, schlagen wir vor, diesen Raum zu entkoppeln indem digitale Werkzeugpaletten physisch greifbar gemacht werden. Wir erreichen dies durch die Verwendung räumlich getrackter, in der Hand gehaltener Displays (Tangible UI Palettes) in unterschiedlichen Größen und Formen, die als physische Repräsentation von ansonsten virtuellen Paletten dienen. Nutzer können sie in die Hände nehmen und frei im 3D-Raum bewegen und anordnen und mit ihnen mit Hilfe digitaler Stifte interagieren. Sie bringen so einige der Vorteile von 3D-Arbeitsumgebungen zurück, die aus der analogen Welt bekannt sind.

principle TUIP setup
Hauptkomponenten von TUIP: Ein Tabletop mit Grafikdokument (a), ein handgehaltenes Display mit Detailansicht des Dokuments (b) sowie handgehaltene Displays mit Werkzeugpaletten (c). Alle Displays unterstützen digitale Stifte (d). Räumliche Arbeitszonen (e, f) dienen als physische Behälter die Werkzeuge oder Inhalte aufnehmen können. Sie werden durch greifbare Proxies (e) oder auf dem Bildschirm (f) repräsentiert.

Räumliche Arbeitszonen

Wir schlagen vor, die Interaktion mit raumbewussten Tangible Displays durch die Anwendung von Prinzipien der Proxemic Interaction zu erweitern. Dazu führen wir das Konzept der räumlichen Arbeitszonen ein, festgelegte 3D-Regionen über und um einen Tisch herum mit individuellen räumlichen Positionen und Ausmaßen. Sie definieren einen unabhängigen Interaktionsraum der durch die Bewegung handgehaltener Displays in ihn hinein und hindurch exploriert werden kann. Dies ändert zeitweise oder dauerhaft was auf dem Display angezeigt wird. So dienen räumliche Arbeitszonen als physische Behälter, die wir für das Gruppieren von Funktionalität oder digitalen Inhalten benutzen.
workzones of TUIP
Räumliche Arbeitszonen sind örtlich begrenzte Regionen über oder neben einem Tabletop. Sie bieten einen schnellen Zugang zu Werkzeugpaletten und Dokumenten. Ein handgehaltenes Display in sie hinein zu bewegen, ändert sofort was auf dem Display angezeigt wird. Die Zone zu verlassen, stellt den vorherigen Inhalt wieder her (a). Durch das Betätigen einer speziellen Schaltfläche auf dem Display werden die Änderungen dauerhaft angewendet (b). So wird es ermöglicht, eine gewählte Werkzeugpalette mitzunehmen, wenn die Arbeitszone verlassen wird.

Publikationen

  • Dynamic Tangible User Interface Palettes.

    Dynamic Tangible User Interface Palettes..

    Spindler, M.; Cheung, V.; Dachselt, R.;

    In Proceedings of INTERACT 2013.INTERACT '13, Cape Town, South Africa.159-176,2013.

    @inproceedings{2013_spindler_TUIP,
       author = {Martin Spindler and Victor Cheung and Raimund Dachselt},
       title = {Dynamic Tangible User Interface Palettes.},
       booktitle = {Proceedings of INTERACT 2013},
       year = {2013},
       month = {9},
       location = {Cape Town, South Africa},
       pages = {159--176},
       numpages = {18}
    }

    Weitere Materialien

  • Towards Making Graphical User Interfaces Tangible

    Towards Making Graphical User Interfaces Tangible.

    Spindler, M.; Hauschild, M.; Dachselt, R.;

    In Proceedings of the ACM International Conference on Interactive Tabletops and Surfaces 2010.ITS '10, Saarbrücken, Germany.ACM,291-292,2010.10.1145/1936652.1936721

    @inproceedings{fixme,
       author = {Martin Spindler and Michel Hauschild and Raimund Dachselt},
       title = {Towards Making Graphical User Interfaces Tangible},
       booktitle = {Proceedings of the ACM International Conference on Interactive Tabletops and Surfaces 2010},
       series = {ITS '10},
       year = {2010},
       month = {11},
       isbn = {978-1-4503-0399-6},
       location = {Saarbr\"{u}cken, Germany},
       pages = {291--292},
       numpages = {2},
       doi = {10.1145/1936652.1936721},
       url = {http://doi.acm.org/10.1145/1936652.1936721},
       acmid = {1936721},
       publisher = {ACM},
       address = {New York, NY, USA},
       keywords = {digital paper, multi-surface UI, tangible UI}
    }

    Weitere Materialien

    Poster